Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Want some more features? Ask here.
zetagy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby zetagy » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:43 pm

I want to be congratulating you on a great app release,
but I Am So Bummed Right Now because all of these great pattern sets are not MIDI sequences-!
I thought that would be the whole point of this app-!
I was looking forward to sending MIDI out to other drum machines,
it looks like i can only do that from the solo instrument pads, not the loops.
-
Oh well, so far so good. I'll find a use for this app, just not the one i expected.

jesse
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby jesse » Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:35 pm

Sorry for the misunderstanding! The looped instruments are very specifically *not* sequences, they are generally high quality recordings of a master percussionist (Pete) performing on real instruments! Although I can see how you might want to have those patterns in MIDI form, the main point was to provide authentic beats on authentic instruments, with a novel way of mixing them all together.

Hopefully you'll still have fun sending MIDI out to other drum instrument apps using the more humanistic control of the pads.

We haven't ruled out the possibility of mapping the other patterns into MIDI in the future, it just isn't a top priority right now.

hallygally
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby hallygally » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:07 am

I´m happy they are not Midi although the idea is sympathic at first sight. But if it is midi the dynamic wouldn´t be as it is now.
For those who are keen on bringing it to Midi the toontrack software "drumtracker" could help.

checkrath
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:09 am
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby checkrath » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:17 am

Understand that the loops aren't MIDI patterns.. That being said, it would be nice if the loops could be assigned to MIDI notes and therefore triggered by virtual MIDI

jesse
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby jesse » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:59 pm

That is a cool feature request. How would you envision the note events controlling the loops? Toggle their muted state with NoteOns?

FreddieD
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby FreddieD » Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:10 am

Yes, please add a feature to export any content as MIDI as well as audio. It would be tremendous for me (and , I think for many others) if we could generate a MIDI loop and paste it into our other sequenced projects. I'd like the choice to paste either audio or use MIDI and use my other sampled sounds. By pasting it in as MIDI, I can make alterations to the final output...

Rob
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Loops aren't MIDI patterns

Postby Rob » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:19 pm

I too was very disappointed to find that the loops do not output MIDI data. This app is now very little use to me. :cry:
I wish this fact was listed on the iTunes app page.


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest